Tel: 01443 400796 |

Follow Us

Abertawe Bro Morgannwg

ROC Constituency – SWWROC

Abertawe Bro Morgannwg University Health Board consists of the former Local Health Boards (LHBs) for Swansea, Neath Port Talbot and Bridgend and also the Abertawe Bro Morgannwg University NHS Trust. The Health Board covers a population of approximately 500,000 people and has a budget of £1.3 billion. The Health Board employs approximately 16,000 members of staff, 70% of whom are involved in direct patient care. The Health Board has four acute hospitals providing a range of services; these are Singleton and Morriston Hospitals in Swansea, Neath Port Talbot Hospital in Port Talbot and the Princess of Wales Hospital in Bridgend. There are a number of smaller community hospitals primary care resource centres providing important clinical services to our residents outside of the four main acute hospital settings. There are more than 300 General Practitioners, around 275 dentists, 125 Community Pharmacies and 60 Optometry premises across the Health Board. General Medical Services within Her Majesty’s Prison Swansea are also provided via ABM.

Key contacts

Amanda Hall, Director of Primary Care

Amanda is responsible for the chairing the ABM UHB ECG but this always falls to Karen Phillips, Head Orthoptist in ABM UHB which is not in keeping with the Terms of Reference for the ECG and this is being taken forward with Welsh Government by the ROC


Lyndsay Hewitt is the ABM UHB's recently appointed Optometric Adviser 

Colm McAlinden, PHW Optometric Adviser

This health board runs an Eyecare Collaborative Group and an Eyecare Liaison Group regularly and representatives from the ROC attend these meetings.


The ABM UHB Headquarters are:

One Talbot Gateway, Baglan Energy Park, Seaway Parade, Port Talbot, West Glamorgan SA12 7BR


Locality leads are: Phil Jones (Vice Chair of SWWROC)  


Ophthalmologists who represent this Health Board at Welsh Government meetings (OSAG and WPCB) are:

Mike Austin



Local enhanced services are as follows:

Post Op Cataract                                         under EHEW (service spec available)